Army Referee Awards 2024

Treble Delight for Andy Cuthbert

Andy Cuthbert picked up three awards at the Annual Army Referee Awards Dinner in May.

The Army FA Referee Awards Dinner was held in early May in the EBB Lounge at Aldershot Town Football Club.

FA Premier League official Darren England was the special guest after delivering an inspirational presentation at the Referee RAFA Training Day earlier in the day to approximately 60 Army referees.

On the evening itself the following awards were presented:

Army FA Caps were awarded to Ben Duffill, Andy Cuthbert, and Nigel Bamford. An Army FA Cap is awarded to a Referee who has completed five qualifying appointments as a Referee which must include either the Major Units Challenge Cup Final, Kentish Cup, Inter Service Men’s (RAF v Royal Navy), Woolwich Cup Final or Super Cup Final as one of the matches.

Chris Steadman, Richard Doorbar, and Richie Pickin received the Meritorious Service Awards which is awarded to officials who have contributed a minimum ten years’ service as a referee which includes a minimum of five years on either a Divisional or Executive Committee.

A new award named the Brookland Shield was presented to Andy Cuthbert. This is for the match official that provides the most commitment during the course of the season.

Sam Hollaway was the recipient of the Le Breton Trophy. This is for the newcomer who has shown the most potential after progressing to Level 7.

It was an excellent evening for the departing Andy Cuthbert in his final season serving. In addition to receiving his Army Cap and the Brookland Shield Andy was also awarded the Dobson’s Trophy. This is the most prestigious trophy in the refereeing calendar and is presented to the match official considered by the Members of the Army FA Referees' Committee to have made the most significant contribution to Army Football in the season about to end.

Army FA Referee Chair Nigel Bamford closed a successful evening by presenting Darren England with a memento of his visit.