Awards Dinner 2019

Army FA Awards Dinner

The 2019 Army FA Annual Awards Dinner was held in the Officers Mess, St Omer Barracks, Aldershot on Thursday 20 June 2019.

Welcomed by the outgoing Vice President and Deputy Chief of the General Staff , Lt General Sir Nick Pope KCB CBE, the evening 16 ranks of the British Army in attendance.

During the course of the evening the following awards/trophies were presented/mentioned (received by in brackets):

Men Inter Service/Southern Counties Cup (Major Sean Birchnall)

Massey Division 1 (REME- Capt Simon Oldrid)

Woolwich Cup (Royal Signals- WO2 Barry Rizza)

Womens Inter Corps League (RLC- Cpl Jess Treharne)

Womens Edwards Challenge Cup (RAMC- Cpl Del Clifford)

Army Challenge Cup (21 Engineer Regiment- Major Si Mayers)

Army Challenge Cup Reserve (4 Lancs- Lt Col Justin Tancrel)

Army Player of the Season (LCpl Luke Cairney (not present)

Army U23 Player of the Season (Cfn Bryn Beange)

Army Reserve Player of the Season (LCpl Craig Thomson)

Army Women Player of the Season (Cpl Jess Treharne)

Army Women Reserve Player of the Season (Cpl Joanna Blodgett)

Army Women Development Player of the Season (LCpl Siobhan Peplow)

Referee (Le Breton Trophy)- SSgt Mark Beverley

Referee (Dobsons Trophy)- Capt Steve Finch

Lifetime Achievement Awards- WO2 Barry Rizza and Lt Col Mick Cotton MBE

A special mention was provided to outgoing Army Womens Head Coach WO1 Mags McAteer. Mags was unable to attend but will be given an official presentation in honour of her commitment to Army football at a later date.

Carol Williamson, who departed the Army FA after 13 years service, was presented with Flowers in appreciation of her efforts.

There were three additional presentations made to the following outgoing members of the Army FA structure:

Colonel Alison Curnow (Womens Representative Chair); former Womens Head Coach Lt Col Sandra Hodgson provided a tribute.

Col Richard Hayhurst OBE (Vice Chairman)

Lt General Sir Nick Pope KCB CBE (Vice President)

The evening concluded with the Chairman Major General “Mitch” Mitchell MBE's speech reflecting on the season and looking ahead too. He also paid tribute to the outgoing members.

This was followed by an entertaining piece hosted by Army FA Secretary Major (Retd) Billy Thomson with guest of honour, former Chelsea, Leeds United and Holland player Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink together with Burton Albion Chairman Ben Robinson. The latter two also formed part of the official presentation party alongside Vice President Pope and Aldershot Town FC Chairman Shahid Azeem.

The Army FA expresses its appreciation to everybody who attended the event and hope that it was an enjoyable evening had by all.

For all the photos taken from the Awards evening please visit our Facebook page: Facebook link