Match officials walk onto the pitch

Referee Awards

Our annual prizes

Dobsons Trophy

The Dobsons' Trophy, donated by Major (Retd) Alan Dobson on his retirement in 1988 as the Army FA Secretary, may be won by any level of Referee. It is awarded in April each year (plus replica for retention) to the Referee considered by the Members of the Army FA Referees' Committee to have made the most significant contribution to Army Football in the season about to end. For a Referee to be considered for the Trophy, his local District Referees' Committee must complete the Dobsons' Proforma (see related documents) and send to the Army FA Referees' Secretary by 1 April. The Trophy cannot be won by the same individual more than once.

Meritorious Service Award

The Meritorious Service Award, introduced in season 1994/95, is awarded by the Army FA Referees' Committee to Referees to mark recognition of loyal and dedicated service. The award takes the form of a Meritorious Service Award tie and a framed certificate. It is awarded to all classes of Referee. The following criteria must be satisfied:

  • A minimum of 10 years continuous service
  • Served a minimum of 5 years on a Local Referees Committee
  • Conduct to be judged to be irreproachable

Le Breton Trophy

The Le Breton Trophy was donated by Mr Brian Le Breton to the Army FA Referees Committee in 2007. Brian was the Assistant Secretary and Referees Secretary of the association for 21 years. The criteria is to present the trophy (with replica) to a Level 7 Army FA Referee who has shown the most potential and commitment.


Army FA Awards

Get in touch

Steve Clout

Related Articles

View All