Corps Football- Men


Please follow Full Time on:
for more information on Army Corps and Reserve football.


The Quads is the "Corps Quadrangular Tournament" which was first competed for in 1969/70 involving REME, Royal Engineers, Royal Signals and the Royal Artillery. Each corps hosts the competition towards the conclusion of the season usually in May. 

Woolwich Cup

The Woolwich Cup is the Inter Corps knockout trophy which has been competed for since 2006/07. All Corps from the Massey Trophy Division One and Two enter the competition. The final is played at the Aldershot Military Stadium.

The winners of all the above competitions can be found on the attached "Corps Football Stats" link below on this page.

Brigadier Andrew Massey (1943-1998)

Andrew Massey was born in Carlisle in 1943 and after Welbeck College and Sandhurst he was commissioned into the Royal Army Service Corps in 1963. His first tour was with the transport squadron of 7th Artillery Brigade. After a year with the Royal Corps of Transport Movement (RCT) squadron he joined 63 Para Squadron (RCT) in February 1967. Two years later the squadron became the first to re-inforce troops in Northern Ireland. After this tour Massey’s commanding officer realised that he had the potential for greater things and he was selected for the SAS, whom he joined in 1970. He was soon involved in the Oman where he had three tours before he rejoined the Airborne Forces as Staff Captain of HQ 16 Para Brigade where further tours of Northern Ireland ensued. In 1979 along with his wife Major Annabelle Cunningham they went to Buckingham Palace to receive the MBE. By this time he has returned to command A Squadron before being promoted to Lieutenant-Colonel in 1981 where he became an instructor at Camberley leading the Counter Revolutionary Warfare Team. At the outbreak of the Falklands War in 1982 he was appointed the Special Forces Liaison Officer at HQ Commander-in Chief Fleet in Northwood. Further accolades followed including receiving the US Armed Forces Staff College Leadership Prize in 1984 and in 1988 where he was responsible for the UK Commitment in the Far East and Africa at the Ministry of Defence.  In 1990 Massey became Deputy Director of Special Forces and when the Gulf War broke out, Operational Commander of the UK Special Forces for Operation Granby. In 1992 he was promoted to Brigadier and returned to his parent corps as Commandant of RCT Training Centre in Aldershot. He retired from the Army the following year.

Andrew Massey had a lifetime interest in sport, particularly football and golf. As Chairman of the Army Football Association he did much to regenerate inter-unit competition. Before leaving the Army he presented the Massey Trophy to be played each season by the corps teams. He sadly passed away in Hereford on 19th August 1988 but his legacy continues as the Massey Trophy has become the most prestigious corps football competition within the Army.

Massey Trophy

The Inter Corps Football Competition shall be held annually called The Massey Trophy and will be made up of two leagues named Division 1 and Division 2 and a cup competition, named the Woolwich Cup.

Promotions and relegations will be applied annually with the team winning Division 2 promotion and the team finishing bottom of Division 1 relegated. A play off final is determined between the second bottom of Division 1 and runners up of Division 2 for the second promotion/relegation position. The team that wins Division 1 will be deemed the winner of the Massey Trophy and will hold it for one season. The team that wins Division 2 will be presented with the Division 2 Trophy.


Secretary: Major Andy Bedward | Tel Mil: 94120 7420 E:

Referees: SSgt Chris Hastings Tel: 07833 306367 or Capt Steve Finch Tel: 07789 444417 Email:

Corps Secretaries

RAC CoH Paul Murphy E:

RA (Capt Eddy Edwards) E:

RE (Major Chloe Plimmer) E:

R Signals (WO2 Lee Fraser) E:  

Infantry (Maj Lee Waghorn) E:    

AAC (Major Darren Breeden) E:

RLC (WO1 Brian O'Donnell) E:

AMS (WO1 (RSM) Andrew Hiley) E:

REME (Capt Scotty Lamont)  E:

AGC (SSgt Andy Biggin) E:    

RAPTC (SSgt Kelvin Noteyoung) E:

INT CORPS (WO1 Diccon Kemp) E:

The  competition shall be open to teams representing:

Royal Armoured Corps
Royal Regiment of Artillery
Corps of Royal Engineers
Royal Corps of Signals
Army Air Corps
Army Medical Services
Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers
Royal Logistic Corps
Adjutant General’s Corps
Army Physical Training Corps
Intelligence Corps
Corps of Army Music

It will be automatically assumed that all Corps will enter the Inter Corps Football Competition unless the Competition Secretary receives written notification to the contrary by 1 July.


What's On

Facebook Find Us

Until we have your approval, we must limit some functionality - More details

Sign up for The People's Cup 2018